Alone Again… Happily?

There’s a sad beauty to being on your own — but solitude can mess with your head.

Jeremy Helligar
6 min readNov 21, 2022
Photo: Pexels/Kamaji Ogino

My husband is leaving me. Don’t worry; our marriage is fine. But in two days, we’ll be separated for the first time since our wedding day three years ago. He’s heading to Australia, where he is from, on Tuesday. It will be his first trip back “home” since moving with me to New York City in 2019. Work will keep me here until I can join him in Melbourne three weeks later.

I miss him already, to be honest, but at the same time, I’m looking forward to some quiet time to reflect on what the last three years have meant to me. I’ll also get to enjoy the freedom to be as moody as I want to be without worrying about the affect my annoying mood swings might be having on the man I love, and the option to sleep in the middle of the bed if I want to.

Since we’ve been married, we’ve only slept apart once. We spent all of lockdown practically joined at the hips, eating, drinking, sleeping, and gaining weight together. We talked about all the people on Facebook who were desperate for human interaction, and we were thankful we had each other. Then when the world opened up again, the most incredible thing happened: I still wanted to be around him.

--

--

Jeremy Helligar

Brother Son Husband Friend Loner Minimalist World Traveler. Author of “Is It True What They Say About Black Men?” and “Storms in Africa” https://rb.gy/3mthoj